Diachronic analysis of the Paris urban area: a geomatic approach

ALPAGE is a geohistorical platform about Paris. Based on a work dynamic initiated in 200with support from the French National Research Agency (ANR)this work then continued on beyond the funded phase (2006-2010). The initial project brought together twenty researchers in Social and Human Sciences and in Information and Communication Technology. Coordinated by Hélène Noizet (LAMOP member), these historians, geomaticians and computer scientists have laid the foundations of a Geographic Information System (GIS) of the pre-industrial Parisian area. The spatial reference data, produced for the beginning of the 19th century and for the medieval period, have been made freely available online on a webmapping platform and is also usually available for download. The associated metadata allows identification of the sources and authors of the data.

Go to ALPAGE webmapping plateformDownload ALPAGE open data

The initial grou
p, which was founded on an association of 4 research laboratories and on the collaboration of many other partners, has transformed into a network of researchers and students working on the history of Paris without dedicated funding. This work is enriched regularly by contributions from researchers of different backgrounds allowing for an enlargement of themes and periods. Each contributor creates new geohistorical data of Paris based on their own personal interest. The website and webmapping platform are updated once or twice a year and validated by the administrators (Hélène Noizet, Laurent Costa, Eric Grosso) and/or the editors of each thematic group (Boris Bove and Sandrine Robert). The group is open to anyone who has questions of a spatial nature regarding the history of Paris.

ALPAGE programme: get involved!

considerable amount of data has been produced not only on the medieval period but also on the modern period and on the 19th century. As regards to the geographical scale of the project, which remains limited to Paris, a partnership with the programme Archéologies du Bassin Parisien of the UMR 7041 ArScAn has enabled access to geohistorical frameworks across the Parisian basin.

Finally, in addition to the webmapping platform, the ALPAGE group has published a book (Paris de parcelles en pixels) and a plan of Paris dated beginning of the 19th century available in A1 and A2 formats (ALPAGE-Vasserot plan).

AnaLyse diachronique de l'espace urbain PArisien : approche GEomatique


ALPAGE
 est une plateforme d’information géohistorique sur Paris. Elle repose sur une dynamique de travail impulsée en 2006, grâce au soutien de l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche, et qui s’est pérennisée au-delà de la phase financée (2006-2010). Le projet initial a fédéré une vingtaine de chercheurs coordonnés par Hélène Noizet, membre du LAMOP. Ces historiens, géomaticiens et informaticiens ont posé les bases d'un système d'information géographique (SIG) sur l'espace parisien pré-industriel. Les données spatiales de référence, construites pour le début du 19ème siècle et pour la période médiévale, ont été mises en ligne dans une plateforme cartographique accessible à tous et la plupart d'entre elles sont téléchargeables librement. Les métadonnées associées permettent d'identifier les sources et les auteurs de chaque donnée.

Accès à la plateforme cartographique ALPAGETéléchargement des données libres ALPAGE


Le groupe initial, fondé sur l’
association de 4 laboratoires, et la collaboration de nombreux autres partenaires, s’est transformé en un réseau de chercheurs et d’étudiants travaillant sur l’histoire de Paris, sans financement dédié. Il s’enrichit ainsi régulièrement des contributions de chercheurs de différents horizons, permettant ainsi d’élargir les thématiques et les périodes. Chacun, en fonction de ses intérêts propres, crée de nouvelles données géohistoriques sur Paris. Ce site et la plateforme cartographique sont donc mis à jour une à deux fois par an, afin d’y intégrer les nouvelles données, validées par les administrateurs (Hélène Noizet, Laurent Costa, Eric Grosso) et/ou les référents du groupe (Boris Bove, Sandrine Robert). Le groupe est ouvert à tous ceux qui se posent des questions historiques d’ordre spatial concernant Paris.

Participez au programme ALPAGE


De nombreuses données ont ainsi été construites, non seulement sur la période médiévale, mais également sur la période moderne et le 19ème siècle. Concernant l’échelle géographique, qui reste encore limitée à Paris, un partenariat avec le programme Archéologies du Bassin Parisien, de l'UMR 7041 ArScAn permet d’avoir accès à des référentiels géohistoriques à l'échelle du bassin parisien.

Enfin, outre la plateforme de webmapping, le groupe ALPAGE a publié un ouvrage (Paris de parcelles en pixels), et le plan de Paris au début du 19ème siècle en format A1 et A2 (plan ALPAGE-Vasserot).